Meet the Team

Rev’d Philip Harvey, Rector of Weobley and Staunton Benefice


Rev’d Harvey is Rector of our Group of Parishes. Philip can be contacted via the telephone number and email below. Rev’d Harvey’s day off is a Friday.

(01544) 318147


We have a number of retired clergy who assist in the ministry listed below.

Retired Clergy

Rev’d Susan Verwey

Self Supporting Minister (officially retired).  I have lived in Staunton-on-Wye for over 27 years, and officiate at services across all our 7 churches.  I have 5 teenage grandchildren, and enjoy reading, long walks and living in the country

Rev’d Peter Houghton

I have Permission to Officiate in the Diocese of Hereford and from 2013 to 2018 I was  responsible for the rural part of the South Wye Team Ministry, comprising two churches and four villages. Previous to that I was curate at Church of The Ascension Balham Hill in Diocese of Southwark, having been ordained in 2008, after taking slightly early retirement from my academic position in the Department of Pharmacy at Kings College London.
 Joan and I live in Ballingham and  have been married for 49 years, but have no children. We enjoy a variety of cross-cultural,  cultural and outdoor interests. We try to keep fit by attending a twice weekly exercise group and walking our Labrador dog daily with at least one 8 mile or more walk  each week.
Rev’d Guy Wilkinson, Rural Dean
Rev’d John Thewlis
Rev’d Charles Overton
Rev’d Chris Rhodes
Rev’d Mike Kneen
Henry Verwey


Emma Noble, Administrator

I produce the People and Steeple pew sheet every week so if you know anyone that would like prayers said for them  or if you would like to join our mailing list to receive the pew sheet please do contact me at .   Also if you have any enquiries for weddings, funerals or baptisms or maybe  you are tracing family that are buried in one of our churchyards, please do get in touch and we will be delighted to help in any way we can.


Group Benefice Council

Roger Marshall, Chairperson, Sarnesfield
Sarah Girling, Secretary and Monnington-on-Wye Representative
Derys Maddox, Tracy Whiting, Letton Representatives
Maggie Denaro and Sue Hubbard, Byford Representatives
Glenn Jones, Staunton-on-Wye Representative
Viv Leech and Hilary Havard, Sarnesfield Representatives
Kim Hendricksen, Norton Canon Representative
Pat Millington, Weobley Representative
Chris Smith, Weobley and Kington Deanery Treasurer
Elizabeth Shayler, Lay Co Chair , Weobley and Kington Deanery